Guadalupe Mountains of Eddy County Severe Watches & Warnings NOAA Weather Radio

Watches & Warnings

High Wind Watch
Issued: 2:07 AM MDT Mar. 17, 2018 – National Weather Service

... High wind watch remains in effect from Sunday morning through
late Sunday night...

* timing... late Sunday morning through Sunday night.

* Winds... southwest to west 45 to 65 mph with gusts to 90 mph.

* Impacts... secure any loose objects that may blow around in the
wind. Winds will be particularly hazardous at higher
elevations where the strongest winds are likely to occur.
People driving high-profile vehicles should strongly consider
postponing travel until the winds subside Monday. Severe
turbulence near the mountains will be hazardous for low flying
light aircraft.

Precautionary/preparedness actions...

A high wind watch means there is the potential for a hazardous
high wind event. Sustained winds of at least 40 mph, or gusts of
58 mph or stronger may occur. Continue to monitor the latest

Fire Weather Warning
Issued: 2:32 AM MDT Mar. 17, 2018 – National Weather Service

... Red flag warning remains in effect from noon CDT /11 am MDT/
Sunday to 1 PM CDT /noon MDT/ Monday...

* wind... mountains... southwest 25 to 35 mph becoming west and
increasing to 45 to 55 mph in the afternoon. Plains...
southwest 25 to 40 mph.

* Humidity... 8 to 15 percent.

* Fuel... dry to critically dry.

* Impacts... low visibility will be possible due to dust and
smoke. Winds will make it hard to control vehicles and low
flying light aircraft. Power outages will be possible.

Precautionary/preparedness actions...

Burn bans are in effect. Fires can start from the smallest of
flames or Sparks and are highly discouraged. Do not drive through
grass or throw cigarettes from a vehicle. Have an advanced plan.
Stay updated with the latest news.

Local Radar

Click to Enlarge

Cities Affected